Perspectives on Post Pandemic

Latin-American Meeting
Perspectives on Post Pandemic

Online Meeting on May 12-14, 2021

The WAAS regional event “Perspectives on Post Pandemic" was organized to examine different perspectives on social, economic, political, educational and environmental matters, taking into account the plurality of realities in Latin America. Despite the sizable number of studies and analysis inspired by the deepening of the COVID-19 pandemic, we still face several major uncertainties. This event discussed ways for a humanitarian recovery that ensures environmental sustainability. We believe that the integration of sciences and arts within a humanistic framework and with deference to the environment and cultural diversity can effectively give rise to public policies leading to global recovery and social transformation. This event included visions and perspectives of Latin American WAAS members, and invited speakers from the rest of the world. The need to build social and political systems that are more resilient and less susceptible to future crises makes imperative the promotion and encouragement of wide-ranging dialogues. This meeting was an opportunity to exchange ideas among peers, and identify ways to better understand the reality that we are currently experiencing. 

AGENDA
 
Wednesday, 12 May, 2021
Opening Session (10:00 - 10:30 BRT / 15:00 - 15:30 CET)
Garry Jacobs, President & CEO, World Academy of Art & Science
Organizing Committee
 
Session 1 – Law, Democracy and Society (10:30 - 12:45 BRT / 15:30 - 17:45 CET)
Moderator: Saulo Bahia (Brazil)
  • Thomas Reuter (Germany): Social and Environmental Justice: A Pathway to Human Security after the Pandemic
  • Saulo Bahia (Brazil): The Pandemic as a Political Systemic Crisis
  • Sérgio Bitar (Chile): Threats and Opportunities for Democracy in Latin America
  • Heron Gordilho (Brazil): Covid-19, Democracy and Political Division
  • Alessia Magliacane (Italy): Ecosphere, Biosphere, Infosphere: The New Structure of Context
  • Oana Branda (Romania): Law, Democracy and Society
  • Winston Nagan (USA): The COVID-19 Pandemic, Global Constitutionalism, and Human Rights

Discussion and Questions

 
Thursday, 13 May, 2021
Session 2 – Education, Science and Innovation (Part I) (09:00 - 10:30 BRT / 14:00 - 15:30 CET)
Moderator
: Neantro Saavedra-Rivano (Chile)
  • Gilberto Gallopin (Argentina): Complexity, Uncertainty, and Bifurcations. The New Situation
  • José Joaquim Brunner (Chile): Reflections on the Future of Higher Education in Latin America: Disruptive or Incremental Innovations? 
  • Paulo Alcântara Gomes (Brazil): Technology and Innovation to improve Development in Brazil
  • Rosalia Arteaga Serrano (Ecuador): The Challenges of Education in Post-Covid Times
Discussion and Questions
Break (10:30 - 11:00 BRT) (15:30 – 16:00 CET)
 
Session 3 – Education, Science and Innovation (Part II) (11:00 – 12:30 BRT / 16:00 - 17:30 CET)
Moderator
: Neantro Saavedra-Rivano (Chile)
  • Antônio de Araújo Freitas Junior (Brazil): Education for an Unknown Future (the Post-Pandemic World)
  • Benjamin Marticorena Castillo (Peru): Education in Sciences for Citizenship
  • Modesto Montoya (Peru): Acceleration of the Digital Transformation in Peru
  • Emil Constantinescu (Romania): Education, Science and Innovation
Discussion and Questions
 
Friday, 14 May, 2021
Session 4 – Economy and Development (09:00 - 10:30 BRT / 14:00 - 15:30 CET)
Moderator
: Danielle Sandi Pinheiro (Brazil)
  • Neantro Saavedra-Rivano (Chile): How the Pandemic will affect the Economy?
  • Danielle Sandi Pinheiro (Brazil): Social Power and Externalities: Spillover Effects of Positive Power Externalities
  • Joanilio Rodolpho Teixeira (Brazil): Political Economy and Socio-Economic Perspectivies
  • Germano Schwarz (Brazil): Covid-19 and the Primacy of Functional Differentiation in Hydroxichloroquine Case: the Law between Health/Science and Economic System
  • Júlio Rocha (Brazil): Traditional Communities in Brazil and Covid-19
Discussion and Questions
Break (10:30 - 11:00 BRT / 15:30 – 16:00 CET)
 
Session 5 – Environment and Right to Health (11:00 - 12:40 BRT / 16:00 - 17:40 CET)
Moderator
: Heron Gordilho (Brazil)
  • Jeanette Vega Morales (Chile): ) A brave new world: Health after pandemic
  • Fadwa El Guindi (Egypt): “I Can’t Breathe”: CO2 or Police Knee On Neck? Pandemic Unmasking Linkages between Society, Environment & Health
  • Kenneth Williams (USA): Black People and Covid 19 in the US
  • Carolina Leiva (Chile): Animals and Dignity. a Critical Analysis
  • Manuelita Hermes Filha( Brazil): Brazil: Pandemic, Right to Health and Federalism
Discussion and Questions
Closing Session (12:40 - 13:00 BRT) (17:40 – 18:00 CET)
Heitor Gurgulino de Souza (Brazil)